The Poet X

Price: points - Details)


Winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall exhausting for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse via an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her tale with blazing phrases and robust fact. 

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and not able to cover in her Harlem community. Ever since her frame grew into curves, she has realized to let her fists and her fierceness do the speaking.

But Xiomara has lots she desires to mention, and she or he pours all her frustration and keenness onto the pages of a leather-based pocket book, reciting the phrases to herself like prayers—particularly after she catches emotions for a boy in her bio elegance named Aman, who her circle of relatives can by no means find out about.

With Mami’s decision to drive her daughter to obey the rules of the church, Xiomara understands that her ideas are easiest stored to herself. So when she is invited to sign up for her college’s slam poetry membership, she doesn’t understand how she may just ever attend with out her mami learning. But she nonetheless can’t prevent excited about appearing her poems.

Because within the face of a global that would possibly not wish to listen her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

“Crackles with power and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, creator of Dread Nation

“An extremely potent debut.” Jason Reynolds, creator of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

“Acevedo has amplified the voices of ladies en el barrio who’re equivalent portions goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” Ibi Zoboi, creator of American Street

This younger grownup novel, a number of the Schomburg Center’s Black Liberation Reading List, is a superb selection for speeded up tween readers in grades 6 to eight.

Plus do not omit Elizabeth Acevedo’s With the Fire on High and Clap When You Land!